Admin Login

Meath crowned 2018 Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football champions

By Meath GAA Thu 16th Apr

Meath crowned 2018 Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football champions
Meath crowned 2018 Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football champions

Mark the date! Friday 17th April at 1 p.m.


We will be showing the 2018 Leinster M.F.C. Final vs. Kildare live on our YouTube channel and watchers can engage in live chat while watching.


MEATH 1-15 KILDARE 1-7  

Saturday 21st July 2018  

Meath coasted to the Leinster Minor football title in Tullamore on Saturday as they had eight points to spare over Kildare. A late Kildare goal narrowed the margin at the end but there was no denying the Meath men after a superb and clinical display.  

Led by the man of the match Luke Mitchell with eight points to his credit, the Meath men were always in control and led from pillar to post in the one-sided final. Cian McBride and Bryan McCormack also proved extremely effective in the middle third for the Royal County became the first County to win the new Minor football championship at the under 17 grade 

Meath wasted little time in flexing their muscles and went 0-4 to 0-0 in front by the 10th minute with Luke Mitchell and Bryan McCormack leading the way. Kildare kicked their first score of the game on 11 minutes when Sam Morrissey floated over a close-range free but that only briefly halted the superior Meath men.  

Another three points in a row before the 16th minute from Mathew Costello, David Bell and Mitchell drove them on to a 0-7 to 0-1 lead. Kildare were struggling for the end product but they did get two points back with Jack Smyth and Alex Beirne on target. Beirne’s point on 18 minutes was to be their last score of the half as Meath kicked on again before the break with four more scores, three of which from Niall Mitchell as they led comfortably 0-11 to 0-3 at half time.  

The result was put beyond doubt seven minutes into the second half as a Bryan McCormack goal coupled with another brace of points from Luke Mitchell left it 1-13 to 0-4. The scores dried up for the remainder of the game with Meath just keeping themselves ticking over. Mathew Costello’s direct running was rewarded with a good score 10 minutes from time while Kildare sub Muiris Curtin clipped over a nice point to leave it 1-15 to 0-5 with five minutes to go.  

Meath could have had another goal late on but for the heroics of John Ball in the Kildare goals while Marcus Kiely did strike a late consolation goal as the Royals set up an All-Ireland quarter-final with Derry next weekend while Kildare will have to pick themselves up for a meeting with Monaghan.  

Scorers for Meath: Luke Mitchell 0-8 (0-4 frees), Bryan McCormack 1-1, Mathew Costello and David Bell 0-2 each, Darragh Swaine and Luke Kelly 0-1 each.  

Scorers for Kildare: M Kiely 1-1, J Smyth 0-2 free, S Morrissey (free), A Beirne, P Behan and M Curtin 0-1 each.  

MEATHSeán Brennan; James O’Hare, Harry O’Higgins, Cathal Hickey; Conor FarrellyConor Harford, Seán Coffey; Adam Reilly, Cian McBride; Darragh Swaine, Mathew Costello, Bryan McCormack; David Bell, Luke Kelly, Luke Mitchell. Subs: Oisin McCloskey for C Harford (46m), Colin Hawdon for B McCormack (49m), Adam Treanor for D Swaine (55m), Brian O’Hanlon for D Bell (55m), Luke Newe for C Hickey (56m), Killian Hogan for A Reilly (60m).  

KILDARE: J Ball; J Lynch, S Hill, J Hamill; N Jackman, K Kelleher, P McDermott; L Broderick, M Kiely; S Morrissey, A Beirne, M McGovern; E O’Haire, A Kennedy, J Smyth. Subs: P Behan for E O’Haire (23m), M Curtin for S Morrissey (28m), D Caulfield for N Jackman (H/T), O O’Loughlin for S Hill (H/T), S Englishby for M McGovern (46m). Referee: Darragh Sheppard (Dublin)  

*By Brian Lowry* 

By Meath GAA Thu 16th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners