Admin Login
Na Fianna

Na Fianna

Na Fianna

Club Colours:

Na Fianna

Na Fianna

Visit Website Send Email Call Club
  • Na Fianna, Enfield, Ireland

Club Information

In January 2000 Na Fianna Hurling and Football club was formed, with the late Jim Queeney as its first Chairman and John McCloskey as its first Secretary. Ollie Greville and Peter Coleman managed the purse strings. The club was formed following discussions between the Baconstown and Enfield GAA clubs in late 1999. At that time Enfield GFC were fielding two Junior Football teams and Baconstown Hurling and Football club were fielding an Intermediate Hurling team and a Junior B football team. Some years earlier, in an effort to improve the quality of underage football in the wider parish of Enfield/ Baconstown/ Rathmolyon, a combined underage football club was established – called Clann na Gael – and it catered for boys football from the ages of Under 14 to Minor across the Parish. Following some signs of success with the Clann na Gael project members of both clubs held discussions with a view to amalgamation

The amalgamated club set out to cater for all former Enfield and Baconstown hurlers and footballers, as well as footballers from the disbanded Rathmolyon football team. Rathmolyon would continue to have their own Hurling club.

Shortly after that the Baconstown Ladies Football team changed its name to Na Fianna Ladies Football team and in 2005 a Camogie team was established. All four codes within the club now operate under the one banner – Na Fianna CLG (incorporating Hurling, Football, Ladies Football and Camogie).
In 2006 the hurlers won the Intermediate Championship, and this was followed by Intermediate Championship victories for the Ladies Footballers in 2009; the Camogie girls in 2011 and finally the footballers in 2012. Na Fianna were the only club in Meath to participate in the Senior Championship in each of the four codes this year.

More Clubs

Main Sponsor

Our Partners