Admin Login

U-20’s shuffle the deck for Kildare

By Brian Kelly Thu 18th Apr

U-20’s shuffle the deck for Kildare
U-20’s shuffle the deck for Kildare

Ahead of tomorrow evening’s Leinster U-20 Hurling Championship Knockout Round 1 game away to Kildare, Sean Corrigan and his backroom team have shuffled the deck with a number of positional switches from the side that defeated Derry almost a fortnight ago in Páirc Tailteann.


It is a vote of confidence to the fifteen players that started both that game off the back of an impressive victory in a game played in the teeth of Storm Kathleen.


The alterations for tomorrow evening sees Darragh Heffernan move out to midfield from his customary half forward berth, Tom Shine move from midfield to corner forward, Lorcan Byrne from left half forward to right half forward, Patrick Jordan from top of the left to left half forward and Mark Leavy switches across from top of the right to left corner forward.


Ben Mather once more lines out between the uprights, with Cian O’Sullivan, Cian Colhoun and Conor Dixon lining out in the full back line for the third consecutive game. Daire Shine continues at centre back with his clubmate Paul Hennessy at right half back and Kiltale’s Craig Gilsenan at left half back.


The new look midfield sees Darragh Heffernan and Mark Horan linking up in a new pairing with Lorcan Byrne, Domhnall Rogers and Patrick Jordan linking up in the half forward line. Tom Shine’s switch into the full forward line sees him joining Paddy Barnwell and Mark Leavy in the inside line.


Tickets for the game are available to purchase here: Meath v Kildare Tickets



  1. Ben Mather (Domhnach Mór/Cill Dhéagláin)
  2. Cian O’Sullivan (Cill Mheasáin)
  3. Cian Colhoun (Cill Dealga)
  4. Conor Dixon (Maigh Dearmhaí)
  5. Paul Hennessy (Cill Scíre/Maolach)
  6. Daire Shine (Cill Scíre/Maolach)
  7. Craig Gilsenan (Cill Teidhil)
  8. Darragh Heffernan (Átha Troim)
  9. Mark Horan (Cill Mheasáin)
  10. Lorcan Byrne (Cill Mheasáin)
  11. Domhnall Rogers (Rath Tó)
  12. Patrick Jordan (Na Fianna)
  13. Tom Shine (Cill Scíre/Maolach)
  14. Paddy Barnwell (Cill Dealga)
  15. Mark Leavy (Dún Doire)

Substitutes From

  • Tiernan Anderson (Gaeil Colmcille)
  • Eoin Bright (Na Fianna)
  • Jack Connell (Cill Scíre/Maolach)
  • Noah Conroy (Cill Mheasáin)
  • Thomas Cully (Ó Mathúna)
  • Dylan Duignan (Cill Liadhain)
  • Rian Fay (Dún Doire)
  • Luke Gallagher (Bórd an Mhuilinn)
  • Eoghan Grehan (Rath Moliadhain)
  • Darren O’Higgins (Cill Scíre/Maolach)
  • Darragh Horan (Cill Mheasáin)
  • Kevin Horan (Cill Mheasáin)
  • Jamie Kavanagh (Cill Dealga)
  • Finn Malone (Ó Mathúna)
  • Charlie McCormack (Cill Teidhil)
  • Sean McDermott (Ó Mathúna)
  • Conor McKeever (Bhulf Tón)
  • Conor McNally (Cill Dealga)
  • Darragh McVann (Cill Teidhil)
  • Colm O’Toole (Ó Mathúna)
  • Alex Rickard (Cill Dealga)
  • Caemerhon Smyth (Cill Dealga)
  • William Treacy (Dún Doire)
By Brian Kelly Thu 18th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners