Admin Login

Same again for U-20s ahead of Dublin test

By Meath GAA Mon 17th Apr

Same again for U-20s ahead of Dublin test
Same again for U-20s ahead of Dublin test

John McCarthy has opted to trust in the old maxim that ‘if it’s not broken, don’t fix it’ ahead of Tuesday evening’s Eirgrid Leinster U-20 Football Championship semi-final against Dublin in Páirc Tailteann as he and his management team have opted to go with the same starting XV that lined out against Westmeath in last week’s quarter final.


The one slight alteration has seen corner forwards Alan Bowden and Shaun Leonard switch flanks with Bowden now at top of the left and Leonard lining out at right corner forward. Other than that, the side is exactly as it was a week ago in what is a vote of confidence in the players that impressively accounted for Westmeath in Ashbourne.


11-04-23, Leinster U20 FC Qr Final at Ashbourne GAA
Meath v Westmeath
Oisin Keogh (Meath) and Sam Smyth (Westmeath)
Photo: David Mullen/


There are though a couple of alterations amongst the substitutes with Christian Finlay and Ruairí Kinsella both returning from injury to take their place among the replacements in what is a big boost for the panel. Finlay was a star player for the All-Ireland winning Minors in 2021 while Kinsella was the 2022 Meath Young Footballer of the Year and this duo replace Aaron Murphy and Charlie O’Connor on the match day panel.


Having returned from injury last week, Billy Hogan continues in goals with the by now familiar full back line of Brian O’Halloran, Liam Kelly and Conor Ennis in front of him.  In the half back line the Skryne duo of John Finnerty and John O’Regan are joined by Brian O’.


At centre field Jack Kinlough and Conor Gray continue their partnership with Ciaran Caulfield, Eoghan Frayne and Liam Stafford providing an experienced half forward line. Oisín Keogh will once more pull on the no.14 jersey at full forward and he’s joined in the inside forward line by Alan Bowden and Shaun Leonard.



  1. Billy Hogan – Longwood
  2. Brian O’Halloran – Ballivor
  3. Liam Kelly – Ratoath
  4. Conor Ennis – Ballinabrackey
  5. Brian O’Reilly – St. Michael’s
  6. John O’Regan  – Skryne
  7. John Finnerty – Skryne
  8. Jack Kinlough – St. Peter’s Dunboyne
  9. Conor Gray – Dunshaughlin
  10. Ciaran Caulfield – Trim
  11. Eoghan Frayne (Capt.) – Summerhill
  12. Liam Stafford – St. Colmcille’s
  13. Shaun Leonard – St. Colmcille’s
  14. Oisín Keogh – Skryne
  15. Alan Bowden – Duleek-Bellewstown
  16. Oisín McDermott – Ballinlough
  17. Killian Smyth – Castletown
  18. Ben Moran – Summerhill
  19. Sean O’Hare – Rathkenny
  20. Ruairí Kinsella – Dunshaughlin
  21. Con Smith – Bective
  22. Hughie Corcoran – Drumbaragh Emmets
  23. John McDonagh – Dunshaughlin
  24. Christian Finlay – St. Colmcille’s


Tickets for the game can be purchased here:Meath v Dublin Tickets.


Throw in on Tuesday evening in Páirc Tailteann is at 18:30.


The game will be available to watch live on the TG4 YouTube platform. Meath v Dublin Live on TG4 YouTube

By Meath GAA Mon 17th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners