O’Rourke rings the changes in Royal selection

Fri 17th Mar

O’Rourke rings the changes in Royal selection

It has been thirty-five years since Meath and Dublin last met in the League in Páirc Tailteann and just like that day in December 1988, a huge crowd is expected to descent on the Brews Hill venue tomorrow for the fixture which throw in at 15:00 (Live on LMFM Radio and on RTE 2).  Off the back of the drawn encounter against Limerick a fortnight ago, Colm O’Rourke has shuffled the pack and made a total of five changes to the starting selection named for the Dublin encounter.


Shane Walsh who picked up a hamstring injury which forced him off at half time the last day misses out and won’t be back until the Championship commences while Daniel O’Neill, Ross Ryan, Shane McEntee and Cillian O’Sullivan also drop out of the starting XV.  Into the side come the experienced Padraic Harnan, Cathal Hickey who returns from injury, Harry O’Higgins (back after suspension), Shane Crosby and Diarmuid Moriarty.


Shane Crosby in action against Laois in the O’Byrne Cup, Photo via Paula Greif.


O’Higgins slots back into the corner back berth he held for the first four rounds of the League with Harnan occupying the centre back position.  This has seen Donal Keogan move out to right half back while the returning Hickey reclaims the left half back position. Shane Crosby lines out at wing forward while Diarmuid Moriarty will operate at top of the left.



  1. Harry Hogan (Longwood) – 22 Appearances
  2. Adam O’Neill (Wolfe Tones) – 5 Appearances
  3. Michael Flood (St. Brigid’s) – 8 Appearances
  4. Harry O’Higgins (Drumbaragh Emmets) – 5 Appearances
  5. Donal Keogan (Rathkenny) – 145 Appearances
  6. Padraic Harnan (Moynalvey) – 68 Appearances
  7. Cathal Hickey (Seneschalstown) – 23 Appearances
  8. Ronan Jones (St. Peter’s Dunboyne) – 27 Appearances
  9. Jack Flynn (Ratoath) – 5 Appearances
  10. Jack O’Connor (Curraha) – 25 Appearances
  11. Jason Scully (Oldcastle) – 26 Appearances
  12. Shane Crosby (Dulee-Bellewstown) – 5 Appearances
  13. Jordan Morris (Kingscourt Stars) – 28 Appearances
  14. Mathew Costello (Dunshaughlin) – 30 Appearances
  15. Diarmuid Moriarty (Curraha) – 7 Appearances
  16. Sean Brennan (Dunderry) – 1 Appearance
  17. Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey) – 96 Appearances
  18. Ross Ryan (Summerhill) – 6 Appearances
  19. Eoin Harkin (Dunsany) – 24 Appearances
  20. Robin Clarke (Duleek-Bellewstown) – 23 Appearances
  21. Daithí McGowan (Ratoath) – 10 Appearances
  22. Aaron Lynch (Trim) – 5 Appearances
  23. Thomas O’Reilly (Wolfe Tones) – 65 Appearances
  24. Donal Lenihan (St. Peter’s Dunbyone) – 54 Appearances
  25. Keith Curtis (Rathkenny) – 6 Appearances
  26. Brían Conlon (Simonstown Gaels) – 29 Appearances

Posted in: County Teams / An Contae, General News / Nuacht Ginearálta

Related News: County Teams / An Contae General News / Nuacht Ginearálta

View All