Admin Login

One Change for U-20’s ahead of their quarter final

By Brian Kelly Tue 16th Apr

One Change for U-20’s ahead of their quarter final
One Change for U-20’s ahead of their quarter final

Ahead of this evening’s EirGrid Leinster U-20 Football Championship quarter final against Laois in Ashbourne, Cathal Ó Bric and his management team have made one alteration to the starting XV, with a key member of the All-Ireland Minor winning side three years ago coming back into the side.


Shaun Leonard made his return from injury last week as a second half replacement and he comes back into the starting side this evening in place of Rian Stafford as a direct replacement.


Other than that the starting line-up remains the same as they side which performed well in defeat to Dublin a week ago with Liam Kelly retaining his place at full back having been a late addition to the starting team in Parnell Park.


Kelly once more captains the team with Brian O’Halloran and Sean O’Hare in the corners in what is an experience full back line, with Oisín McDermott once more between the uprights behind them.


The half back line remains the same from the previous two outings with Eamonn Armstrong, John O’Regan and Killian Smyth continuing in situ while Charlie O’Connor has recovered from the knock that saw him leave the field of play during the second half last week to continue his burgeoning partnership with Jack Kinlough.


John Harkin leads the attack from the forty and he is joined once more at left half forward by Conor Duke, with Shaun Leonard coming in at right half forward.


The inside line of the attack is another that is unchanged with Jamie Murphy, Cian Commons and Rian McConnell all set to start.


As is the norm with this panel, the substitutes will be confirmed closer to the throw in.


Tickets for the game can be purchased here:  Meath v Laois tickets


Supporters attending this evening’s game are advised that the access road to Ashbourne from the roundabout at the Pillo Hotel will be closed from 20:00 this evening. This means that supporters will have to exit the grounds and make their way home by going through Ashbourne and out onto the M2 at the Ashbourne South exit. 


Please follow the advice and instruction of the stewards at the ground in relation to this. 



  1. Oisín McDermott (Baile an Locha)
  2. Brian O’Halloran (Baile Íomhair)
  3. Liam Kelly (Rath Tó) – Capt.
  4. Sean O’Hare (Rath Coinnig)
  5. Eamonn Armstrong (Damhliagh/Baile an Bheileogaigh)
  6. John O’Regan (Scrín)
  7. Killian Smyth (Baile an Chaisleáin)
  8. Jack Kinlough (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  9. Charlie O’Connor (Domhnach Seachnaill)
  10. Shaun Leonard (Naomh Colmcille)
  11. John Harkin (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  12. Conor Duke (Domhnach Seachnaill)
  13. Jamie Murphy (Naomh Pádraig)
  14. Cian Commons (Baile Sencaill)
  15. Rian McConnell (Baile an Chaisleáin)


Substitutes From

  • Oisín Black (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Tom Bowden (Damhliag/Baile an Bheileogaigh)
  • Ronan Byrne (Rath Tó)
  • Luke Carolan (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  • Tomas Corbett (Rath Tó)
  • Hughie Corcoran (Emmet Druim Bhearradh)
  • Ben Corkery (Clann na nGael)
  • David Curtis (Rath Coinnig)
  • Danny Ehichoya (Naomh Colmcille)
  • Sean Emmanuel (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Conor Ennis (Baile na Breacaighe)
  • Christian Finlay (Naomh Colmcille)
  • John Finnerty (Scrín)
  • Josh Harford (Cill Bhríde)
  • Liam Kelly (Rath Tó)
  • Darragh Kelly (Baile an Chaisleáin)
  • Shaun Leonard (Naomh Colmcille)
  • John Mannion (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Tadgh Martyn (Baile Shláine)
  • Conor McWeeney (Cill Bhríde)
  • Lorcan O’Connor (Baile an Bhaitearaigh)
  • Rian Stafford (Coill Chille Maighneann)
  • Ajay Tormey (Gaeil Colmcille)
By Brian Kelly Tue 16th Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners