Admin Login

Meath side named for final four encounter

By Meath GAA Sat 11th May

Meath side named for final four encounter
Meath side named for final four encounter

For the first time since 2001, Meath are in the last four of the EirGrid sponsored All-Ireland U-20 Football Championhip (back then it was played at the U-21 grade), and for today’s encounter with Kerry, the team management have opted to go with the same starting XV that lined out against Louth in the Leinster Final almost a fortnight ago.


That gives a settled look to the starting side, with it now being three games in a row that the same side has been selected for.


Team captain Liam Kelly once more pulls on the number three jersey to man the edge of the square in front of Oisín McDermott and he resumes a partnership with Conor Ennis at right corner back and Sean O’Hare at left corner back as the Minor full back line of three years ago continue in situ.


Eamonn Armstrong, John O’Regan and Killian Smyth also have a settled look to them as the half back line, lining up together for the fifth time in six games.


The centrefield partnership of Jack Kinlough and Charlie O’Connor is also a familiar one with the pairing now having started together in all six matches.


Up front Rian Stafford once more leads the attack from the centre forward berth and he is joined in the half forward line by Shaun Leonard and Conor Duke.


The inside line sees Hughie Corcoran and Rian McConnell manning the corner forward berths with Jamie Murphy lining out on the edge of the square once more.


Tickets for the game can be purchased here: Meath v Kerry Tickets 



  1. Oisín McDermott (Baile an Locha)
  2. Conor Ennis (Baile na Breacaighe)
  3. Liam Kelly (Rath Tó) – Capt.
  4. Sean O’Hare (Rath Coinnig)
  5. Eamonn Armstrong (Damhliagh/Baile an Bheileogaigh)
  6. John O’Regan (Scrín)
  7. Killian Smyth (Baile an Chaisleáin)
  8. Jack Kinlough (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  9. Charlie O’Connor (Domhnach Seachnaill)
  10. Shaun Leonard (Naomh Colmcille)
  11. Rian Stafford (Coill Chille Maighneann)
  12. Conor Duke (Domhnach Seachnaill)
  13. Hughie Corcoran (Emmet Druim Bhearradh)
  14. Jamie Murphy (Naomh Pádraig)
  15. Rian McConnell (Baile an Chaisleáin)


Substitutes From

  • Oisín Black (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Tom Bowden (Damhliag/Baile an Bheileogaigh)
  • Ronan Byrne (Rath Tó)
  • Séimí Byrne (Baile Sencaill)
  • Luke Carolan (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  • Cian Commons (Baile Sencaill)
  • Tomas Corbett (Rath Tó)
  • Ben Corkery (Clann na nGael)
  • David Curtis (Rath Coinnig)
  • Danny Ehichoya (Naomh Colmcille)
  • Sean Emmanuel (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Christian Finlay (Naomh Colmcille)
  • John Finnerty (Scrín)
  • Josh Harford (Cill Bhríde)
  • John Harkin (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  • Darragh Kelly (Baile an Chaisleáin)
  • John Mannion (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Tadgh Martyn (Baile Shláine)
  • Conor McWeeney (Cill Bhríde)
  • Lorcan O’Connor (Baile an Bhaitearaigh)
  • Brian O’Halloran (Baile Íomhair)
  • Ajay Tormey (Gaeil Colmcille)

This afternoon’s game will be broadcast by LMFM and will also be televised live on TG4. 


Paths to the Semi-Final



Round Team 1 Score Score Team 2 Venue
Leinster U-20 FC Round 1 Meath BYE
Leinster U-20 FC Round 2 Meath (0-18) (2-05) Westmeath Ashbourne
Leinster U-20 FC Round 2 Meath (1-07) (0-13) Dublin Parnell Park
Leinster U-20 FC Quarter Final Meath (4-08) (1-10) Laois Ashbourne
Leinster U-20 FC Semi-Final Meath (2-09) (0-10) Kildare Manguard Park, Hawkfield
Leinster U-20 FC Final Meath (3-13) (0-12) Louth Parnell Park



Round Team 1 Score Score Team 2 Venue
Munster U-20 FC Phase 2 Round 1 Kerry (1-13) (0-05) Clare Páirc Naomh Mhuire Quilty
Munster U-20 FC Phase 2 Round 2 Kerry (1-12) (0-11) Cork Super Valu Páirc Uí Chaoimh
Munster U-20 FC Phase 2 Round 3 Kerry (1-15) (1-10) Tipperary Austin Stack Park, Tralee
Munster U-20 FC Final Kerry (1-15) (0-12) Cork Austin Stack Park, Tralee


Conor McWeeney launches an attack against Louth in the EirGrid Leinster U-20 FC Final on April 29 2024 in Parnell Park. Photo via Paula Greif/



Team Total For Total Against Team Total For Total Against
Meath (10-55) (3-50) Kerry (4-55) (1-38)


Average For

Meath:  17 points per game.

Kerry:  16.75 points per game.


Average Conceded

Meath:  11.8 points per game.

Kerry:  10.25 points per game.


Semi-Final Referee

Thomas Murphy (Gaillimh)

By Meath GAA Sat 11th May

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners