Admin Login

Meath boosted by return of injured players to the match day panel

By Brian Kelly Fri 15th Mar

Meath boosted by return of injured players to the match day panel
Meath boosted by return of injured players to the match day panel

Ahead of Saturday’s Allianz Football League Division 2 Round 6 game against Cork in Páirc Tailteann, Meath have kept the changes to a minimum on the starting line up from the side which took to the field in Kingspan Breffni against Cavan a fortnight ago.


There is just the single alteration to the side with Ruairí Kinsella coming in for his second Allianz Football League start of the season as an indirect replacement for Ronan Jones who misses out this weekend.  The resultant reshuffle sees Cathal Hickey move back out to the midfield berth he held during the O’Byrne Cup as Kinsella takes his corner forward berth.



Two players are named among the replacements having missed out up to now due to injury with Harry O’Higgins and Jason Scully making their return to the match day 26.


The defence which impressed against Cavan remains en masse with Sean Brennan in goals and a full back line of Donal Keogan, Adam O’Neill and Brian O’Halloran.  In front of them there is the by now familiar trio of Ciaran Caulfield, Darragh Campion and Sean Coffey with this line having been selected in full for five of the six games to date, Caulfield missed the Armagh game through injury.


It’s a new midfield pairing with former St. Patrick’s Classical School and Meath Minor teammates Cian McBride and Cathal Hickey being paired together but there is a settled look to the line in front of them as Daithí McGowan, Eoghan Frayne and Jack O’Connor are all selected.


Kinsella comes in at top of the left in a full forward line which also includes his clubmate Mathew Costello who captains Meath on Saturday and Shane Walsh.



  1. Sean Brennan (Dún Doire)
  2. Donal Keogan (Rath Coinnig)
  3. Adam O’Neill (Bhulf Tón)
  4. Brian O’Halloran (Baile Íomhar)
  5. Ciaran Caulfield (Átha Troim)
  6. Darragh Campion (Scrín)
  7. Sean Coffey (Baile na Breacaighe)
  8. Cian McBride (Naomh Ultain)
  9. Cathal Hickey (Baile Sencaill)
  10. Daithí McGowan (Rath Tó)
  11. Eoghan Frayne (Druim Samhraidh)
  12. Jack O’Connor (Currach Átha)
  13. Shane Walsh (Na Fianna)
  14. Mathew Costello (Domhnach Seachnaill) (Capt.)
  15. Ruairí Kinsella (Domhnach Seachnaill)
  16. Billy Hogan (Maigh Dearmhaí)
  17. Michael Flood (Naomh Bríd)
  18. Michael Murphy (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  19. Adam McDonnell (Druim Samhraidh)
  20. Harry O’Higgins (Emmet Druim Bhearradh)
  21. Jason Scully (Sean Caisleán)
  22. Riss Ryan (Druim Samhraidh)
  23. Keith Curtis (Rath Coinnig)
  24. Aaron Lynch (Átha Troim)
  25. Danny Dixon (Bórd an Mhuilinn)
  26. Diarmuid Moriarty (Currach Átha)

By Brian Kelly Fri 15th Mar

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners