Admin Login

Couple of alterations for U-20’s ahead of last 4 encounter

By Meath GAA Tue 23rd Apr

Couple of alterations for U-20’s ahead of last 4 encounter
Couple of alterations for U-20’s ahead of last 4 encounter

Ahead of this evening’s EirGrid Leinster U-20 Football Championship semi-final away to reigning All-Ireland Champions Kildare, Meath have made two alterations to the starting XV from the side which started last week’s quarter final victory over Laois in Ashbourne.


Coming into the side at right corner back is Conor Ennis, winner of the 2021 Electric Ireland Minor Footballer of the Year Award, while Hughie Corcoran, selected at top of the right on the Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year three years ago, comes in at right corner forward. These players come into the side in place of Brian O’Halloran and Cian Commons.


Corcoran’s selection at corner forward sees a slight reshuffle of the inside forward line as Jamie Murphy moves to the full forward berth from the right corner forward position he has played in up to now. Rian McConnell continues at top of the left.


Conor Ennis in action against Laois in the EirGrid Leinster U-20 FC quarter final on April 16 2024. Photo via Paula Greif.


Ennis’ inclusion in the side sees him join team captain Liam Kelly and Sean O’Hare in the full back line, with Oisín McDermott once more filling the goalkeeper position.  The half back line from last week remains unchanged with Eamonn Armstrong, John O’Regan and Killian Smyth lining out together for the fourth game in succession.


Another line that is unaltered this season is the midfield pairing of St. Peter’s Dunboyne clubman Jack Kinlough and Dunshaughlin’s Charlie O’Connor.


Having made his return to the side last week, Shaun Leonard continues at right half forward and he is joined in the half forward line by John Harkin and Conor Duke.


Tickets for the game can be purchased here: Meath v Kildare Tickets



  1. Oisín McDermott (Baile an Locha)
  2. Conor Ennis (Baile na Breacaighe)
  3. Liam Kelly (Rath Tó) – Capt.
  4. Sean O’Hare (Rath Coinnig)
  5. Eamonn Armstrong (Damhliagh/Baile an Bheileogaigh)
  6. John O’Regan (Scrín)
  7. Killian Smyth (Baile an Chaisleáin)
  8. Jack Kinlough (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  9. Charlie O’Connor (Domhnach Seachnaill)
  10. Shaun Leonard (Naomh Colmcille)
  11. John Harkin (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  12. Conor Duke (Domhnach Seachnaill)
  13. Hughie Corcoran (Emmet Druim Bhearradh)
  14. Jamie Murphy (Naomh Pádraig)
  15. Rian McConnell (Baile an Chaisleáin)


Substitutes From

  • Oisín Black (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Tom Bowden (Damhliag/Baile an Bheileogaigh)
  • Ronan Byrne (Rath Tó)
  • Séimí Byrne (Baile Sencaill)
  • Luke Carolan (Naomh Peadar Dún Bóinne)
  • Cian Commons (Baile Sencaill)
  • Tomas Corbett (Rath Tó)
  • Ben Corkery (Clann na nGael)
  • David Curtis (Rath Coinnig)
  • Danny Ehichoya (Naomh Colmcille)
  • Sean Emmanuel (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Christian Finlay (Naomh Colmcille)
  • John Finnerty (Scrín)
  • Josh Harford (Cill Bhríde)
  • Darragh Kelly (Baile an Chaisleáin)
  • John Mannion (Naomh Pádraig)
  • Tadgh Martyn (Baile Shláine)
  • Conor McWeeney (Cill Bhríde)
  • Lorcan O’Connor (Baile an Bhaitearaigh)
  • Brian O’Halloran (Baile Íomhair)
  • Rian Stafford (Coill Chille Maighneann)
  • Ajay Tormey (Gaeil Colmcille)
By Meath GAA Tue 23rd Apr

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners