Admin Login

‘Cilles claim national honours

By Meath GAA Tue 2nd Jul

‘Cilles claim national honours
‘Cilles claim national honours

Saturday 29th June 2024 is a date that will be remembered forever by the East Meath club St Colmcille’s as their U-15 boy squad became the first team from the club to win a National Féile Peile na nÓg title and only the 3rd team from Meath to win a Divisional Cup title (St Peters Dunboyne won in 2003 & 2009 & Donaghmore/Ashbourne in 2014) since the competition started in 1982.


After beating Dunshaughlin in the Grade A final on the 19th of May, the team prepared for the finals with challenge games against other Division 1 clubs representing their county to get the team used to the Féile rules.


Meath were graded in National Féile Division 3 along with Division 1 Club champions from Laois, Louth, Clare, Wicklow, Westmeath, Monaghan and Tipperary, while the host club was St Kevin’s in Castlerea.


The ‘Cilles were the first match on the card v Na Fianna Óg from Laois and both teams were excited and nervous to play their first national final match but after a short while the ‘Cilles boys settled down and took their chances running out winners with a scoreline of 3-05 to 1-03.


Next up was their close neighbours Naomh Máirtín from Louth with most players well known to each other through secondary schools football and this turned out to be one of their tougher tests on the day as trailing for most of the match in a low scoring game the ‘Cilles kept up their work rate and edged 1 point ahead with only a few minutes remainingThe defence were doing unbelievable work not to allow their opponents equalise and held out for the win on a final score 0-03 to 0-02 to ‘CillesNaomh Máirtín would eventually go on to win the Shield competition later that day.


For the final group match it was a top of the table affair up against Cratloe from Clare who also had 2 wins in the group so this was to decide who topped the table as both teams had secured a place in the cup semi-finals. Again in a very tight affair with the lead switching hands during the game the match finished in a draw with both team scoring 1-04 a piece. This meant that the Cilles finished 2nd in the group by a 1 point score difference but still advanced on to the cup semi-finals. 


The semi-final saw then up against the Group 2 winners which was St Loman’s of Mullingar and with the temperatures on the day rising, the heat and tiredness was going to be a concern. The ‘Cilles boys playing against the wind, stuck to the game plantook their points to lead at half time and with an amazing defensive display ran out winners with a full time score of 0-06 to 0-00.


With a break to the finals the physio room at the stadium was very busy and they awaited the outcome of the other semi-final which went to extra time. Magheracloone Mitchells from Monaghan coming out on top to secure a place in the final against the ‘Cilles.


With a large crowd in attendance the ‘Cilles boys put in an impressive performance in the final as they got off to a flying start scoring two quick goals early to take command of the game. The Monaghan outfit came back strong which meant the ‘Cilles defence once again held strong with a masterclass in blocking and turning over possession. The ‘Cilles were always in control after soaking up the pressure running out winners with a score line of 3-5 to 0-00. 


The Cilles joint captains Cormac Grogan and Eoin Dunne accepted the cup on behalf of the team and paid tribute to the excellent facilities, the warm welcome from the host club including all the officials and volunteers involved in making it a memorable day for all. A reception dinner and prize giving ceremony was held that evening at the Silver Springs hotel in Athlone. 


The boys that have etched their names into the history books of the St. Colmcille’s club forever are:


John Lawler, Finn McGuirk, Danny McCabe, Finn o Neill, Jack Sheeran, Noah Noone Garland, Liam O’Donoghue, Ben Mullen, Eoin Dunne, Milo Hall, Cormac Grogan, Niall O’Donoghue, Sean Whelan, Nicholas Ehichoya, Eric Moloney, Carl Cummins, Nathan Doolin, Rory O’Neill, Dillion Sherlock, Cian Bennett, Aidan Woods, Conor Flynn, Finn Coyle, John C Maher, Mateo Higgison, Ruairi Kenny.


Management Team: David Sheeran, Ian Mullen, Caimin Hall, Enda Grogan, Nigel Woods, Mark Doolin and Dave Sherlock


Thanks to the St. Colmcille’s PRO for the report.

By Meath GAA Tue 2nd Jul

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners