Minor Hurling Championship Division 3 Preview

Thu 27th Aug

Minor Hurling Championship Division 3 Preview

Division 3 Donaghmore/Ashbourne, Loughcrew Gaels/Gaeil Colmcille & Navan O’Mahonys.


St. Peter’s Dunboyne (B) withdrew after the competition draw was completed.


August 29 13:00 Rd. 1 Navan O’Mahonys v Donaghmore / Ashbourne Venue – Paddy O’Brien Park Referee – Peter O’Halloran
August 29 Rd. 1 Loughcrew Gaels / Gaeil Colmcille v BYE
September 5 Rd. 2 Donaghmore / Ashbourne v BYE
September 5 13:00 Rd. 2 Loughcrew Gaels / Gaeil Colmcille v Navan O’Mahonys Venue – Kilskyre Referee – Peter O’Halloran
September 19 13:00 Rd. 3 Donaghmore / Ashbourne v Gaeil Colmcille / Loughcrew Gaels Venue – Ashbourne Referee – TBC
September 19 Rd. 3 Navan O’Mahonys v BYE



Donaghmore/Ashbourne – The ‘Moors have taken the opportunity granted by the lockdown to regroup and come into the Championship well placed to make a big challenge for honours after struggling to field on occasion in the Spring League.  While there was no club activity taking place for much of the year, their Games Promotion Officer never slacked off and the players had fresh activities to work on each week at home as they strived to improve their skillset in advance of the Championship.


That work has been evident in the brilliant form shown to date by their U-15 side in the Ted Murtagh Cup and if replicated by the Minors, they are well in a healthy position ahead of Saturday’s game away to O’Mahonys.  Ben Mather and Sean Doyle are two exciting talents coming through the ranks for Davy Gaughan’s side and they will be ably assisted by team captain Darragh Gleeson and Rhys Thomas.


Manager – Davey Gaughan.  Selectors – Eddie Mather & Niall O’Sullivan.  Captain – Darragh Gleeson.


Loughcrew Gaels/Gaeil Colmcille – There is great work being done to develop the game in the north of the county, and while the majority of this team are underage again next year, they are a richly talented group of players.  Led by Meath captain Sean Geraghty who was also manager when they won the U-15 Division 2 League title last Autumn, Loughcrew Gaels/Gaeil Colmcille appear to possess all the necessary ingredients required to win this Division 3 Championship.


They won the Division 3 title two years ago at U-15 level when edging Wolfe Tones by a point in a thriller, so this group of players are developing a nice habit of winning finals.  The Shine brothers Dara and Tom are key players and along with Ronan Gunning, they will be three players to look out for on the Loughcrew Gaels/Gaeil Colmcille side.


Manager – Sean Geraghty.  Selectors – Seamus O’Reilly, Thomas Shine & Greg Smith.  Joint Captains – Brein Casserly & Cormac O’Reilly.


Navan O’Mahonys – Fielding on their own in the Minor Hurling Championship for the first time in many years is an achievement in its own right for O’Mahonys.  The green shoots of revival for hurling in the club are becoming more and more evident.  In 2019, they contested an U-15 Final as well as a couple in Division 1 at the U-14 age grade.  Much of this panel will be eligible to play in the Minor Championship again next year and could they be on course then to win a second Minor title?


Among the talented players coming through for O’Mahonys are Finn Malone and Jack McConnell while Darragh Connell is a name which has been on everybody’s lips in the club for a while as a player of rich potential.  Possibly coming into the Championship as the outsider of the three teams, O’Mahonys are more than capable of upsetting the odds and reaching the final.

Manager – David Brady.  Selector – Neil Quinn.  Captain – Darragh Connell.


2019 Winner – N/A


Playing For – Peadar Lehane Cup


Predicted finalists – Donaghmore/Ashbourne & Loughcrew Gaels/Gaeil Colmcille


Predicted winners – Loughcrew Gaels/Gaeil Colmcille


Posted in: Club, Youth / An Oige

Related News: Club Youth / An Oige

View All